International competitions in archery are regulated under the rules of the International Archery Federation (FITA).

archery competitionHere are the disciplines listed by FITA:

Outdoor Archery

The 1440 round:

36 arrows at each distance of 90, 70, 50, 30 meters for men and 70, 60, 50, 30 meters for women. This makes a maximum score of 1440 points. A target face of 122 cm is used for the two longer distances and a face of 80 cm is used for the two shorter distances.

The 900 round:

30 arrows at the distances 60, 50, 40 meters for both men and women. The 122 cm face is used for all distances.

Indoor Archery

Indoor archery is shot at the distances 18 and 25 meters.

Field Archery

Field Archery is shot in the countryside with the targets placed on a path. The distances are a mixture of known and unknown. You shoot at different angels, both uphill and downhill

3D Archery

3D Archery is shot at 3 dimensional animal imitational targets.


Archery is an ideal sport for people with disabilities. They compete in different categories depending if they sit in a wheelchair or not. Archery is a sport in the Paralympics.

Ski Archery

Ski Archery is a combination of Archery and Nordic cross-country skiing.

Run Archery

Run Archery is a new type of archery competition. It combines cross-country running with archery. Ski-archers often compete in this discipline during the summer.

Flight Archery

Very simple rules in this discipline: Shoot as long distance as you can.

Clout Archery

Clout you shoot a long distance and the target zone is on the ground.

Archery is also an Olympic sport and a special round is designed for the Olympics:

The Olympic round in archery

The Archers first shoot 72 arrows at 70 meters, and the 64 best archers are placed in a match-play ladder. Number one meets number 64 and so on. In the match-play the archers just shoot 12 arrows each match.

Similar Posts